Thursday, December 31, 2015

December 31, 2015

Some highs, mostly lows,
trials, tribulations, tests,
quests- kiss year goodbye.

Wednesday, December 30, 2015

December 30, 2015

Someone's fault that I
couldn't sleep last night- plates are
made for food not quakes.

Tuesday, December 29, 2015

Monday, December 28, 2015

December 28, 2015

Fresh snow on the ground,
we attempt an escape- lush
west coast is calling.

Sunday, December 27, 2015

Saturday, December 26, 2015

Friday, December 25, 2015

December 25, 2015

Gentle breeze reveals
bachelor button blue skies-
Christmas cloud kindness.

Thursday, December 24, 2015

December 24, 2015

Fresh snow over pines,
blue sky glimpses, breathless youths-
Santa approaches.

Wednesday, December 23, 2015

December 23, 2015

Sun fighting heavy
clouds, snowflakes drift toward earth-
cosy, we sip tea.

Tuesday, December 22, 2015

December 22, 2015

Frozen in winter's
stiff embrace, summer's blooms rest-
spent sun's souvenirs.

Monday, December 21, 2015

December 21, 2015

Cat's big green eyes say
"how could you leave without me?"
Christmas guilt begins.

Sunday, December 20, 2015

December 20, 2015

Stratus darkens sky,
zephyr, lone crow takes flight- dank
days are for nesting.

Saturday, December 19, 2015

Friday, December 18, 2015

December 18, 2015

No view could beat the
sound of contented purring-
my eyes closed, I drift.

Thursday, December 17, 2015

December 17, 2015

Suitcase loaded, I
clunk along the street- SkyTrain
out, floatplane away.

Wednesday, December 16, 2015

December 16, 2015

Vancouver has it
all- rain soaked bridge walks, frost filled
sunny downtown strolls.

Tuesday, December 15, 2015

Monday, December 14, 2015

Sunday, December 13, 2015

December 13, 2015

Clip, squirm, clip, squirm, jump-
cat escapes mani-pedi,
flees, long nails clicking.

Saturday, December 12, 2015

December 12, 2015

Despite late night, I
wake early, buzzing with thoughts-
holiday madness.

Friday, December 11, 2015

Thursday, December 10, 2015

Wednesday, December 09, 2015

Tuesday, December 08, 2015

Monday, December 07, 2015

December 7, 2015

When you're gone the bed's
empty, despite my presence-
my heart's full of you.

Sunday, December 06, 2015

Saturday, December 05, 2015

December 5, 2015

Branches scraping at
window sound like banshees- just
ghosts of tenants past.

Friday, December 04, 2015

Thursday, December 03, 2015

Wednesday, December 02, 2015

December 2, 2015

Three souls leave the bed,
one by one, the cat last- why
waste a good warm spot?

Tuesday, December 01, 2015

December 1, 2015

Black Friday, Cyber
Monday, Christmas sales- ready
for Boxing Day sales?

Monday, November 30, 2015

November 30, 2015

Wrapped in cashmere, plunge
deep to dark December days-
November exhales.

Sunday, November 29, 2015

Saturday, November 28, 2015

Friday, November 27, 2015

Thursday, November 26, 2015

Wednesday, November 25, 2015

Tuesday, November 24, 2015

Monday, November 23, 2015

Sunday, November 22, 2015

November 22, 2015

Back of couch warmed, rare
sunny day, cat surveys his
kingdom- the whole world.

Saturday, November 21, 2015

November 21, 2015

Glimpse of brush, follows
me, weekend groom, ready to
prowl- indoor cat dreams.

Friday, November 20, 2015

Thursday, November 19, 2015

Wednesday, November 18, 2015

Tuesday, November 17, 2015

November 17, 2015

It's certainly not
raining cats, at least not mine-
he's in bed, warm, dry.

Monday, November 16, 2015

Sunday, November 15, 2015

November 15, 2015

White edged purple blooms
shyly creep from velvet leaves-
thriving violet.

Saturday, November 14, 2015

Friday, November 13, 2015

Thursday, November 12, 2015

Wednesday, November 11, 2015

Tuesday, November 10, 2015

November 10, 2015

Frost puts autumn's stamp
on world- drift into winter's
dream, awake in spring.

Monday, November 09, 2015

Sunday, November 08, 2015

November 8, 2015

My muscles scream "no!"
In autumn's dark, my mind must
triumph over blah.

Saturday, November 07, 2015

November 7, 2015

Crowded couch, hot tea,
my shy haiku won't emerge-
Saturday sense slump.

Friday, November 06, 2015

November 6, 2015

A scolding meow,
morning silence shattered- fill
my food dish right now!

Thursday, November 05, 2015

November 5, 2015

Jack-o'-lantern creeps
from youth to old codger- time
change- autumn deepens.

Wednesday, November 04, 2015

Monday, November 02, 2015

November 2, 2015

Light blue sky, blaze of
sun, busy squirrels, spiders-
Monday in nature.

Sunday, November 01, 2015

Saturday, October 31, 2015

Friday, October 30, 2015

Thursday, October 29, 2015

October 29, 2015

Leaves flutter down, we
fall into bed earlier-
we wait for spring's kiss.

Wednesday, October 28, 2015

October 28, 2015

Nuzzle, nip, nuzzle,
nip, lick, chomp! My morning cat
grooming session ends.

Tuesday, October 27, 2015

October 27, 2015

Cat's dish, bare middle,
certain looming starvation-
plaintiff meows rise.

Monday, October 26, 2015

October 26, 2015

Various low hums
fill house, but I'm silent- my
brain does a hushed jig.

Sunday, October 25, 2015

October 25, 2015

Muscles burn and scream,
"how could you return to squats?"
Brain calls for ice cream.

Saturday, October 24, 2015

Friday, October 23, 2015

Thursday, October 22, 2015

October 22, 2015

Loud mews, eyes open,
blazing sun, cup of tea- my
brain opens, spills forth.

Wednesday, October 21, 2015

Tuesday, October 20, 2015

October 20, 2015

Foggy morning, dark
past rising, damp, chill- long for
sweet summer mornings.

Monday, October 19, 2015

October 19, 2015

Mist and cloudy gloom,
apt weather for my Monday
mood- dream Friday dreams.

Sunday, October 18, 2015

October 18, 2015

Morning in dreamland,
afternoon daydreams, nightly
slumber- it's Sunday.

Saturday, October 17, 2015

Friday, October 16, 2015

Thursday, October 15, 2015

Wednesday, October 14, 2015

Tuesday, October 13, 2015

Monday, October 12, 2015

Sunday, October 11, 2015

October 11, 2015

It shouldn't be just
this weekend we give thanks- each
day brings something new.

Saturday, October 10, 2015

Friday, October 09, 2015

Thursday, October 08, 2015

October 8, 2015

Tested, weighed, poked, and
prodded by doctors- no cure
for anxious poets.

Wednesday, October 07, 2015

Tuesday, October 06, 2015

October 6, 2015

Slovenly humans!
That's what cats must think- daily
bath is not enough.

Monday, October 05, 2015

October 5, 2015

Reminiscing 'bout
when I was in school- I don't
miss those distant days.

Sunday, October 04, 2015

Saturday, October 03, 2015

Friday, October 02, 2015

October 2, 2015

Fall brings reflection,
ponderings on the next year-
stop, pick up chestnuts.

Thursday, October 01, 2015

October 1, 2015

Waiting for my first
niece, sleepless night, excitement-
the future arrives.

Wednesday, September 30, 2015

September 30, 2015

We plunge blind into
fall, chestnuts plummeting- spring
waits on other side.

Tuesday, September 29, 2015

Monday, September 28, 2015

Sunday, September 27, 2015

Saturday, September 26, 2015

Friday, September 25, 2015

Thursday, September 24, 2015

September 24, 2015

Grey day, cat won't play,
back to bed, he lays his head-
without sun he'll stay.

Wednesday, September 23, 2015

Tuesday, September 22, 2015

Monday, September 21, 2015

Sunday, September 20, 2015

Saturday, September 19, 2015

Friday, September 18, 2015

Thursday, September 17, 2015

September 17, 2015


Dreams unite me with
friends from the past- I toss, turn
trying to hold them.

Wednesday, September 16, 2015

Tuesday, September 15, 2015

Monday, September 14, 2015

September 14, 2015

More comforting than
pain pills, he sleeps by my side-
his purring heals me.

Sunday, September 13, 2015

Saturday, September 12, 2015

Friday, September 11, 2015

Thursday, September 10, 2015

Wednesday, September 09, 2015

Tuesday, September 08, 2015

Monday, September 07, 2015

Sunday, September 06, 2015

Saturday, September 05, 2015

Friday, September 04, 2015

Thursday, September 03, 2015

Wednesday, September 02, 2015

Tuesday, September 01, 2015

September 1, 2015

This glum grey morning
could only mean one thing- our
summer has slipped past.

Monday, August 31, 2015

August 31, 2015

Last of the month, cat
sleeps away the morning- grey
skies mean closed green eyes.

Sunday, August 30, 2015

August 30, 2015

Chilled morning, wet roads,
clouds, autumn premonition-
close eyes, eat peaches.

Saturday, August 29, 2015

August 29, 2015

End of the month and
rainstorms rage, previews of fall-
goodbye summer sun.

Friday, August 28, 2015

August 28, 2015

Potted Bearss lime tree
drops its leaves in despair- my
care or nearing fall?

Thursday, August 27, 2015

Wednesday, August 26, 2015

August 26, 2015

Kitchen table's full,
juicy fruit to share- enjoy
summer while it lasts.

Tuesday, August 25, 2015

Monday, August 24, 2015

Sunday, August 23, 2015

Saturday, August 22, 2015

August 22, 2015

Like emeralds in
the summer sun, his eyes shine-
he still has cat breath.

Friday, August 21, 2015

August 21, 2015

Lap, lap, lap, lap, no,
not the sea, it's me, drinking
from the toilet. Cat!

Thursday, August 20, 2015

Wednesday, August 19, 2015

Tuesday, August 18, 2015

Monday, August 17, 2015

August 17, 2015

Clear skies, hot sun, calm
day, my fur coat is hot- cat
snoozes in the shade.

Sunday, August 16, 2015

Saturday, August 15, 2015

August 15, 2015

The kettle has stopped,
which tea will start my day right-
my first decision.

Friday, August 14, 2015

August 14, 2015

Dramatic clouds cloak
the summer sun- three crows caw
gleefully in gloom.

Thursday, August 13, 2015

Wednesday, August 12, 2015

Tuesday, August 11, 2015

Monday, August 10, 2015

August 10, 2015

Fresh laundered blankets
make the cat suspicious- where's
my fine scent, woman?

Sunday, August 09, 2015

August 9, 2015

We don't need lucky
numbers to see us through- our
love will endure time.

Saturday, August 08, 2015

Friday, August 07, 2015

August 7, 2015

At the crack of dawn,
a volley of caws- the crows
have found their breakfast.

Thursday, August 06, 2015

August 6, 2015

Cat peers through bushes,
nothing to hunt today- wise
choice to nap instead.

Wednesday, August 05, 2015

Tuesday, August 04, 2015

Monday, August 03, 2015

August 3, 2015

No one understands,
save your platitudes- I'll walk
this dark path alone.

Sunday, August 02, 2015

Saturday, August 01, 2015

August 1, 2015

Why've you come now? I
was enjoying summer- sun
filled days are numbered.

Friday, July 31, 2015

Thursday, July 30, 2015

July 30, 2015

Hot July evening,
friends gathered for drinks, burgers-
summer barbecue.

Wednesday, July 29, 2015

July 29, 2015

No need for a watch-
he wakes me, reminds me of
meals, bedtime, my cat.

Tuesday, July 28, 2015

Monday, July 27, 2015

July 27, 2015

Tortured sleep, followed
by sunny morning- week could
improve after all.

Sunday, July 26, 2015

July 26, 2015

Sunny magical
weeks, weekends with clouds- we watch
The Weather Network.

Saturday, July 25, 2015

July 25, 2015

Fresh winds stir trees, nudge
wispy clouds across summer
skies- July weekend.

Friday, July 24, 2015

July 24, 2015

Summer rainfall wash
away my writer's block- don't
make me wait till fall.

Thursday, July 23, 2015

July 23, 2015

Blow off the workout,
sleep instead. Tomorrow the
workout seeks revenge.

Wednesday, July 22, 2015

July 22, 2015

Stargazer lilies
burst, hot pink and white, fragrant-
dry July burns on.

Tuesday, July 21, 2015

July 21, 2015

Fourteen years we've shared,
tuna, sleeping in, and naps-
happy birthday, cat.

Monday, July 20, 2015

Sunday, July 19, 2015

July 19, 2015

Too hot for morning
tea, I'll throw it over ice-
glass half full, not cup.

Saturday, July 18, 2015

July 18, 2015

Reproachful green eyes
meet mine, his dish is empty-
my muse mews a lot.

Friday, July 17, 2015

July 17, 2015

Everyone watches
for clouds, not sun- drought wages
war on the living.

Thursday, July 16, 2015

July 16, 2015

Sleepless night, morning
reveals tired cat, humans- he'll
catnap while we work . . .

Wednesday, July 15, 2015

Tuesday, July 14, 2015

July 14, 2015

Awakened muscles
scream at me this morning- my
next workout looms large.

Monday, July 13, 2015

Sunday, July 12, 2015

July 12, 2015

Cat placidly drinks,
ignoring loud caws of crows-
it's Sunday morning.

Saturday, July 11, 2015

July 11, 2015

Their morning antics
annoy the sleepy cat- crows
should hold court elsewhere.

Friday, July 10, 2015

July 10, 2015

Like the dragon, Smaug,
he guards my phone like treasure-
guess I'll stay home, cat.

Thursday, July 09, 2015

July 9, 2015

Quarter of food bowl
left, could only mean one thing-
starvation for cat.

Wednesday, July 08, 2015

July 8, 2015

Contemplative stare,
quiet musings broken- Meeee-
oooow! The cat joins me.

Tuesday, July 07, 2015

Monday, July 06, 2015

July 6, 2015

Wretched summer cold,
sweating indoors I sleep- dreams
of Paris sustain.

Sunday, July 05, 2015

Saturday, July 04, 2015

Friday, July 03, 2015

July 3, 2015

Meows fill the air,
morning, noon, night- newly home
cat vents vexation.

Thursday, July 02, 2015

Tuesday, June 30, 2015

Monday, June 29, 2015

Sunday, June 21, 2015

Friday, June 19, 2015

Friday, June 12, 2015

June 12, 2015

Striped seats of comfort,
I traverse the countryside-
TGV roams France.

Thursday, June 11, 2015

June 11, 2015

Dazed from jet lag, we
wander around packed Paris-
gold leaf gleams in sun.

Wednesday, June 10, 2015

June 10, 2015

Online check-in, bags
zipped, worries in carry-on-
my itchy feet scratched.

Tuesday, June 09, 2015

June 9, 2015

Task list miles long, cat
suspicious of suitcases-
it's vacation time.

Monday, June 08, 2015

June 8, 2015

Peaceful sunning cat,
lovely window silhouette-
content snores fill room.

Sunday, June 07, 2015

June 7, 2015

Cat sleeps innocent
to our close travel plans- he'll
be unimpressed soon.

Saturday, June 06, 2015

June 6, 2015

What better morning,
than foretasting cake after
lunch- diet be damned!

Friday, June 05, 2015

June 5, 2015

Flitting about the
house, chores before dull errands-
vacation needed.

Thursday, June 04, 2015

Wednesday, June 03, 2015

June 3, 2015

Soft cat's a welcome
distraction from writer's block-
my page count stagnates.

Tuesday, June 02, 2015

June 2, 2015

Overcast June day,
distant birds lament spring chill-
winter torpor's back.

Monday, June 01, 2015

Sunday, May 31, 2015

May 31, 2015

Spring trickling out,
moisture falling, sun rising-
summer blooms around.

Saturday, May 30, 2015

May 30, 2015

Chicken salad wraps,
phat thai, garlic prawns, cashews-
delicious Thai lunch.

Friday, May 29, 2015

Thursday, May 28, 2015

Wednesday, May 27, 2015

May 27, 2015

A short two weeks left,
worry, plan, obsess, and pack-
summer vacation.

Tuesday, May 26, 2015

May 26, 2015

Boring errands loom,
no escape from mundane tasks-
Tuesday limps along.

Monday, May 25, 2015

May 25, 2015

Glum Monday morning,
tempting to skip workout- guilt
conquers laziness.

Sunday, May 24, 2015

May 24, 2015

What sights will we see?
What will the weather be like?
Trip planning queries.

Saturday, May 23, 2015

Friday, May 22, 2015

Thursday, May 21, 2015

Wednesday, May 20, 2015

May 20, 2015

Careful selection,
last lilac blooms of this year-
fragrant indulgence.

Tuesday, May 19, 2015

May 19, 2015

From behind his back,
husband shows dozen roses-
gloomy day brightened.

Monday, May 18, 2015

Sunday, May 17, 2015

May 17, 2015

Cat wedged between us,
no space to sprawl on Sunday-
loveseat for three souls.

Saturday, May 16, 2015

Friday, May 15, 2015

May 15, 2015

Deep purple blooms lined
by glowing white- African
violet beauty.