Saturday, 31 May 2014

May 31, 2014

Thankful for the rest
of a weekend away from
the garden's mischief.

Friday, 30 May 2014

May 30, 2014

Insidious grass
pervades the lorn garden beds.
I toil without gain.

Thursday, 29 May 2014

May 29, 2014

Grudgingly weeping
birch surrenders the old path.
My childhood fort grows.

Wednesday, 28 May 2014

May 28, 2014

Mundane household tasks,
ponderous mind drifting away.
I'm a world away.

Tuesday, 27 May 2014

May 27, 2014

Eager cat races
me to the door, hoping sun
will warm his wee paws.

Monday, 26 May 2014

May 26, 2014

The wet weather earns
a prime dirty look from cat.
But I booked sun, lord.

Sunday, 25 May 2014

Saturday, 24 May 2014

Friday, 23 May 2014

May 23, 2014

Rainy days bring cute
sights like bedraggled cats who
only have wet paws.

Thursday, 22 May 2014

May 22, 2014

Such glorious fur,
a shame to part with so much,
above all on rug.

Wednesday, 21 May 2014

May 21, 2014

Afternoon sun is
more pleasant with lounging cat.
The cat days of spring.

Tuesday, 20 May 2014

May 20, 2014

Verdant shrub growing
outside the window, blocking
the fresh springtime sun.

Monday, 19 May 2014

May 19, 2014

May long weekend gives
me sun-kissed skin, dreaming of
heated summer days.

Sunday, 18 May 2014

May 18, 2014

This morning's protein
shake has grit worthy of true
western film hero.

Saturday, 17 May 2014

Friday, 16 May 2014

May 16, 2014

Pink carnations fade
slowly after ages  cut.
My will to weed wanes.

Thursday, 15 May 2014

May 15, 2014

Revenge of the weeds,
I ache from day's gardening.
Lasting impression.

Wednesday, 14 May 2014

Tuesday, 13 May 2014

May 13, 2014

I drink in their scent
as I struggle to find words.
Lilacs are a dream.

Monday, 12 May 2014

Sunday, 11 May 2014

May 11, 2014

Thank you Mom for the
encouragement to write prose,
reading my haiku.

May 11, 2014

Orange blossoms fill
the house with smell of jasmine.
Promise of sweet fruit.

Saturday, 10 May 2014

May 10, 2014

I try to not take
it as a bad sign, when my
tea falls flat first thing.

Friday, 9 May 2014

May 9, 2014

Obsessed with commas,
desperately spell checking, my
editing anguish.

Thursday, 8 May 2014

May 8, 2014

Cats make a willing,
purrfect sleep-in mate, even
on a Thursday morn'.

Wednesday, 7 May 2014

May 7, 2014

I feel eyes watching,
turn to see you in the hall,
wide eyes, alert tail.

Tuesday, 6 May 2014

May 6, 2014

Editing novels
can be vexing, boring, or
can lead to brain storms.

Monday, 5 May 2014

May 5, 2014

Cat observes birds through
window, dreaming of fresh fowl.
Their sweet songs go on.

Sunday, 4 May 2014

May 4, 2014

Restless night leaves me
thrashed, bleary-eyed, with a sore
throat, dreaming of sleep.

Saturday, 3 May 2014

Friday, 2 May 2014

May 2, 2014

My white orchid's drained,
with limp blooms and feeble leaves.
Soon it will slumber.

Thursday, 1 May 2014

May 1, 2014

No maypole to dance
around in Fairfield, monkey
tree as substitute.