Tuesday, 31 January 2012

January 31, 2012


Vexed cat meows at
small bird outside the window.
“Be afraid!” cat says.

Monday, 30 January 2012

January 30, 2012


Purring cat wakes me
wanting pets and cuddles now.
But it’s early cat.

Sunday, 29 January 2012

January 29, 2012


Cat sitting in front
of heater warming his paws.
Then he turns around.

Saturday, 28 January 2012

January 28, 2012


When working in the
kitchen my eye sees brown fur.
But that is no cat!

Friday, 27 January 2012

January 27, 2012


Clever crows watching,
besetting the beach for food.
Waiting to swoop down.

Thursday, 26 January 2012

Wednesday, 25 January 2012

January 25, 2012


Grey cloudy day, dull
and dreary, dragging moods down.
Where does the sun hide?

Tuesday, 24 January 2012

January 24, 2012


Pouring rain washing
away snow, salt, grime, winter.
Watering the spring.

Monday, 23 January 2012

January 23, 2012


Finally the sun
has returned, warming our chills.
Cheering our low moods.

Sunday, 22 January 2012

January 22, 2012


Shuddering windows,
creaking house under wind storm.
Waiting for reprieve.

Saturday, 21 January 2012

January 21, 2012


Howling wind rattles
at my bedroom window, loud.
Disturbing my sleep.

Friday, 20 January 2012

January 20, 2012


Melting snow dripping
outside the window, dropping.
Revealing spring bulbs.

Thursday, 19 January 2012

January 19, 2012


Disconcerting drives
over piles of snow so high.
Slow and steady wins.

Wednesday, 18 January 2012

January 18, 2012


Branches heavy with
snow so white and pure, freezing.
Burying young shoots.

Tuesday, 17 January 2012

January 17, 2012


Driving snow falling
over my hair, shoulders, cold.
Winter wonderland.

Monday, 16 January 2012

January 16, 2012


Tender green shoots push
through the snow covered ground, up.
Promising springtime.

Sunday, 15 January 2012

January 15, 2012


Sun glints off of snow
fresh fallen, white, melting slow.
Winter is leaving.

Saturday, 14 January 2012

Friday, 13 January 2012

January 13, 2012


Menacing dark skies
heavy with rain, maybe snow.
Clouds hiding the sun.

Thursday, 12 January 2012

January 12, 2012


The sun warms my day,
then the clouds take it away.
This moody weather.

Wednesday, 11 January 2012

January 11, 2012


Surfacing from deep
sleep, dreams colourful, lifelike.
Glad to see the sun.

Tuesday, 10 January 2012

January 10, 2012


Morning sunlight makes
me squint, smile, peaceful, happy.
High optimism.

Monday, 9 January 2012

January 9, 2012


Birds chirping in the
trees, busy with life, springtime.
Ready for nesting.

Sunday, 8 January 2012

January 8, 2012


Pale light basking Oak
Bay and tender spring plants grow.
Primroses start blooms.

Saturday, 7 January 2012

January 7, 2012


Reluctant to wake
from my colourful dream world.
The same grey clouds, rain.

Friday, 6 January 2012

January 6, 2012


Another grey day
marching in dull succession.
Will the spring come soon?

Thursday, 5 January 2012

January 5, 2012


Skies heavy with rain,
grey, dark, foreboding, windy.
Should I venture out?

Wednesday, 4 January 2012

January 4, 2012


Grey skies pooling rain
all around the house, car, me.
Waiting for the sun.

Tuesday, 3 January 2012

January 3, 2012


Pale winter light peeks
over the horizon, sea.
Not bright enough, warm.

Monday, 2 January 2012

January 2, 2012


Waking up late on
a cloudy day, no sunlight.
Should have stayed in bed.

Sunday, 1 January 2012

January 1, 2012


New year arrives fast.
Suddenly the date has changed
and resolutions.