Saturday, 31 December 2011

December 31, 2011


Year draws to a close,
last minutes seeping out now.
In with the new year.

Friday, 30 December 2011

Thursday, 29 December 2011

December 29, 2011

Heavy grey clouds hang
close to treed islands, whitecaps.
View through Active Pass.

December 28, 2011


View out my window,
bright lights, big city, rush, sound.
Vancouver still grows.

Tuesday, 27 December 2011

December 27, 2011


Vancouver drizzle,
fog, wind against the window.
Not shopping weather.

Monday, 26 December 2011

Sunday, 25 December 2011

Saturday, 24 December 2011

December 24, 2011


Building excitement,
it will be hard to sleep long.
Christmas is coming.

Friday, 23 December 2011

December 23, 2011


Christmas tree laden
with tinsel, ornaments, lights.
Presents crowd the base.

Thursday, 22 December 2011

Wednesday, 21 December 2011

December 21, 2011


Lodgepole pines glisten
with ice, a dusting of snow.
Deep green framed by white.

Tuesday, 20 December 2011

Monday, 19 December 2011

December 19, 2011


Though the sky is clear
the sun doesn’t reach over
the snowy hilltops.

Sunday, 18 December 2011

December 18, 2011


Morning light glinting
off of pristine snow drifts, banks.
Bluish, bright light glows.

Saturday, 17 December 2011

December 17, 2011


Morning breezes make
the clouds leave the hills. Reveals
glimpses of blue sky.

Friday, 16 December 2011

December 16, 2011


The last few leaves hang
from frozen branches, cold, dead.
The tree waits for spring.

Thursday, 15 December 2011

December 15, 2011


Blinding whiteness greets
me through the window, snow falls.
Winter closes in.

Wednesday, 14 December 2011

December 14, 2011


A light dusting of
snow covers the frozen ground.
Feels like Christmas time.

Tuesday, 13 December 2011

December 13, 2011


Frantic, harried, so
many things to do and think.
Then it’s time to go.

Monday, 12 December 2011

December 12, 2011


Winter sunlight weak,
ponderously creeping in.
Warming the cat’s ears.

Sunday, 11 December 2011

Saturday, 10 December 2011

December 10, 2011


Breaking dawn, soft light,
fading night, stars gone, sunrise.
Changing light, time, place.

Friday, 9 December 2011

Thursday, 8 December 2011

December 8, 2011


Assaulted by the
cold air on raw lungs, sore throat.
But I keep going.

Wednesday, 7 December 2011

Tuesday, 6 December 2011

December 6, 2011


How can the cat know
where to find the warmest place?
Inbred heat sensors.

Monday, 5 December 2011

Sunday, 4 December 2011

December 4, 2011


Morning grey with chill
not inviting for a walk.
But fine to gaze at.

Saturday, 3 December 2011

December 3, 2011


New hair cut so short
I can feel breeze on my neck.
Reveals a new me.

Friday, 2 December 2011

December 2, 2011


Rays of sun filter
through a dirty window pane.
Bright packets of hope.

Thursday, 1 December 2011

December 1, 2011


How could it be this
month again? Before I’m done
with light, warmth, the year.